25

San Ildefonso College

ATTRACTIONS · Museums
From $45 MXN

classification

Art, Science and history

schedule

Mon
Closed
Tue
10:00-20:00
Today
10:00-18:00
Thu
10:00-18:00
Fri
10:00-18:00
Sat
10:00-18:00
Sun
10:00-18:00

at your disposal

+52 (55) 5702 2991

How to get

Justo Sierra #16, Col. Centro. 06020, Historic Center

in detail

It is named the Old College of San Ildefonso for hosting four seminaries in the sixteenth century: San Pedro and San Pablo, San Bernardo, San Miguel and San Gregorio who were in charge of the Jesuits. When they merged, the Colegio de San Ildefonso was founded in 1583. However, it was not until the eighteenth century that the building acquired the Baroque architecture which now characterizes it.

After the expulsion of the Jesuits from Mexico in 1767, the building became the headquarters of the Battalion of the Regiment of Flanders and temporary headquarters of the Escuela de Jurisprudencia, among other functions. In the nineteenth century it was the headquarters of American and French troops. Benito Juarez decided to turn the building into the Escuela Nacional Preparatoria and, in 1910, it became part of the Universidad Nacional. In 1978 it ceased to be used as a school and remained closed until it was opened as a museum in 1992.

The museum consists of two galleries: The Mural project with paintings on the walls of the building and a temporary exhibition hall. It also has three important areas: The Generalito, an assembly hall, La Capilla, an exhibition hall and the amphitheater with a mural by Diego Rivera called Creation, this was the first of several murals painted by the Mexican as part of a campaign by José Vasconcelos to create an artistically literate society. José Clemente Orozco, Ramón Alva de la Canal, Fermín Revueltas, Fernando Leal and Jean Charlot also participated in this project.

more info on

Facebook · Twitter · Sitio web

Other users also viewed

We use our own and third-party cookies to enhance the experience of CDMXTravel.com. More information.